Friday, June 26, 2009

Crazy for the Storm- Memoir by Norman Ollestad


On February 19, 1979 Norman Ollestad was an 11-year-old ski racer who suddenly found himself the only survivor of a plane crash in the mountains of Southern California. The crash claimed the lives of his father, his father's girlfriend, and the pilot leaving Norm alone to make his way out of the snowy range and save himself. All grown up now, Norm has written a book about the experience and his relationship with his father called, "Crazy for the Storm."

I finished the book a couple of weeks ago. I have to admit, there is no way I would have made it out of there. The stuff Norm knew from all that time skiing about how to make it through the snow storm and sketchy terrain was amazing...more so because of his age. Interesting side note, he was wearing his favorite blue Vans and talked about them a lot during the story. Here's a Norm talking about his memoir. For more info on the book visit CRAZY FOR THE STORM DOT COM.





Norm appeared on THE DAILY HABIT on Fuel TV last night, but you can catch his episode again twice today 2:30pm ET/11:30am PT and 5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT.